Here are some interesting facts about the Detroit Red Wings:

The franchise was founded in 1926 and were originally known as the Detroit Cougars. They changed their name in 1930 to the Detroit Cougars, but that name only lasted two seasons and they then changed their name to the current Detroit Red Wings. The team is one of the “Original Six” teams which includes the Toronto Maple Leafs, Montreal Canadiens, Boston Bruins, New York Rangers and Chicago Blackhawks. The Red Wings have won the most Stanley Cup championships of any NHL franchise that is based in the United States. They are in third place overall with 11 NHL championships, behind the Montreal Canadiens, who have 24 championships and the Toronto Maple Leafs, who have 13 championships.

Logo History

The Detroit Red Wings logo has had five logo variations, including the original design back in 1926. See the different Detroit Red Wings logo designs that they have had over the years.

Team Info

Founded: 1926
Conference: Eastern
Division: Atlantic
Team Colors: Red and White

detroit red wings colors


Stanley Cups: 11
Conference Championships: 6
Presidents’ Trophies: 6
Division Championships: 19
Home Arena: Joe Louis Arena

detroit red wings sports cap

Get Your Detroit Red Wings Sports Cap


Interested in other Detroit Red Wings merchandise? Visit the Detroit Red Wings Fan Shop on Amazon where you will find other great products.

Go Red Wings!